METROPOLITAN MUSEUM OF ART: REI KAWAKUBO/ COMME DES GARCONS: ART OF THE IN-BETWEEN

On Friday, I went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to check out the Rei Kawakubo/Comme Des Garcons: Art of the In- Between Exhibit. This exhibit examines nine expressions of  Kawakubo “in- betweenness.”  Before visiting this exhibit, I had my idea/interpretations on the term ‘Avant Garde,’ but after viewing this exhibit I truly understand the meaning behind the pharse. This exhibit was so beautifully executed, one of the best the I’ve seen so far. This was an exquisite piece of work & I would recommend everyone to visit this exhibit.

Take a look below to see some of the pieces & a few qutoes from Rei Kawakubo.

“My clothes and the spaces they inhabit are inseparable – they are one and the same. They convey the same vision, the same message and the same sense of values.” – 2017

IMG_1020.JPG

“I wasn’t limited to the confines of a pattern, Not being educated, not being taught how to design, U was able to visualize in a completeky different context. And I still seem able to draw upon the unconventional.” – 1993

IMG_1021.JPG

“Fashion is not art. You sell art to one person. Fashion comes in a series and it is a more social phenomenon.” – 1998

IMG_1022.JPG

“There’s vaule in bad taste.” -2008

IMG_1023.JPGIMG_1024.JPG

“The right head of my brain likes tradition and history, the left wants to break the rules.” – 2005

IMG_1025.JPG

” I am not protesting against fashion. This is something else, another direction.” – 1983

IMG_1028.JPG

“Personally, I don’t care about function at all…When I hear ‘where could you wear that?’ or ‘it’s not very wearable,’ or ‘who wouldwear that” to me it’s just a sign that someone missed the point.” – 2013

IMG_1030.JPG

“I want to rethink the body, so the body and the dress become one.” – 1997

IMG_1033.JPG

“From the beginning, I dispensed with any preconceived notions about Western and Eastern social mores and cultures, as all thes things are irrelevant to my world…I deliberately cast away all questions of upbringing, nationality, sociology ad the like.” – 2011

IMG_1035.JPG


Leave a comment